Tuesday, July 27, 2010

'Postcards' from Manic Street Preachers

Yes! Another Manic Street Preachers album! That kind of news always makes me happy. Hot on the heels of 2009's Journal for Plague Lovers, the Manics are set to release Postcards From a Young Man September 20th in the UK. [NME]

Postcards From a Young Man, the tenth album from the Welsh trio, is apparently the band's "one last shot at mass communication." "(It's Not War) - Just the End of Love" will be its premiere single the week of September 13th.

A slew of guests also appear on the dozen-song effort. Echo and the Bunnymen's Ian McCulloch appears on "Some Kind of Nothingness". Fellow Welshman John Cale (Velvet Underground) plays piano on "Auto-Intoxication," while ex-Guns 'N Roses/Velvet Revolver bassist Duff McKagen performs on "A Billion Balconies Facing the Sun". Nicky Wire also steps up to the mic to take on "The Future Has Been Here 4 Ever."

Postcards From a Young Man tracklisting:
1. (It's Not War) - Just the End of Love
2. Postcards From a Young Man
3. Some Kind of Nothingness (with Ian McCulloch)
4. The Descent (Pages 1 & 2)
5. Hazleton Avenue
6. Auto-Intoxication
7. Golden Platitudes
8. I Think I've Found It
9. A Billion Balconies Facing the Sun
10. All We Make Is Entertainment
11. The Future Has Been Here 4 Ever
12. Don't Be Evil

In other Manics news, Wire announced via the Manics blog that he's attempting to write a script to Doctor Who, the widely popular science fiction TV show on the BBC. Apparently Wire's script is tentatively titled "Do Not Go Gently" and the story takes shape around Welsh-born poet Dylan Thomas' final days in New York.

** UPDATE (07.30.10): NME reports that British actor Michael Sheen is slated to appear in the band's video for "(It's Not War) Just the End of Love." Sheen is best known for portraying former Prime Minister Tony Blair in the 2006 film, The Queen. Brilliant film, by the way. Americans will also recognize him from several episodes from the fourth season of 30 Rock.

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home