Monday, May 18, 2009

The Return of Dolores O'Riordan

Irish songstress Dolores O’Riordan, best known for fronting the Cranberries for five studio albums, is prepping to release No Baggage, her first solo offering since 2007's 2007's Are You Listening?. The 11-song set will be available August 25th via Zoë/Rounder Records.

In a press release, O'Riordan says: "I probably haven’t worn my heart on my sleeve like this since the second Cranberries album [1994’s No Need to Argue]. It’s at times very confessional and dealing with my true emotions. Everyone, through their experiences or their background, has had terrible moments where they think they can’t handle it. With this record I’m trying to show that, no matter how bad things may seem, it’s not really that bad in the big picture."

I was a massive fan of the Cranberries as a teenager, and still like listening to Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can't We? and No Need to Argue. The band earned four top 20 Billboard albums, 8 hit singles, and worldwide sales of over 40 million records. They even reunited for a small show in Dublin this past January to commemorate Dolores becoming an Honorary Patron of Trinity College's Philosophical Society. It's nice to see Dolores back in the fold. Details of a U.S. tour is forthcoming.

No Baggage:

1. Switch Off the Moment
2. Skeleton
3. It's You
4. The Journey
5. Stupid
6. Be Careful
7. Apple of My Eye
8. Throw Your Arms Around Me
9. Fly Through
10. Lunatic
11. Tranquilizer

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home