Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Gold Against the Soul

One of my very favorite bands, Manic Street Preachers, will release their ninth album, Journal for Plague Lovers, their follow-up to the very underrated Send Away the Tigers (2007). Produced by the legendary Steve Albini, the 13-song set will be released May 18th via Columbia.

Journal for Plague Lovers will also include lyrics by Manics songwriter/guitarist Richey Edwards, who mysteriously disappeared February 1, 1995. His family declared him dead in November 2008.

The band talked about Edwards' lyrics via their website: "All 13 songs on the new record feature lyrics left to us by Richey. The brilliance and intelligence of the lyrics dictated that we had to finally use them. The use of language is stunning and topics include "The Grande Odalisque" by Ingres, Marlon Brando, Giant Haystacks, celebrity, consumerism and dysmorphia, all reiterating the genius and intellect of Richard James Edwards."

English painter Jenny Saville, best known for designing the cover of the Manics’s third album, The Holy Bible, lends her talents for a stunning second cover.

Journal for Plague Lovers:
1. Peeled Apples
2. Jackie Collins Existential Question Time
3. Me and Stephen Hawking
4. This Joke Sport Severed
5. Journal for Plague Lovers
6. She Bathed Herself in a Bath of Bleach
7. Facing Page: Top Left
8. Marlon J.D.
9. Doors Closing Slowly
10. All Is Vanity
11. Pretension/Repulsion
12. Virginia State Epileptic Colony
13. William's Last Words

British Sea Power's Martin Noble is also said to be working on a remix for "Me and Stephen Hawking." Stay tuned.

Labels: , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home