Tuesday, October 10, 2006

Rebirth of the Cool

Today's the day, bitches! The Twilight Singers release the iTunes exclusive EP, A Stitch in Time. Do yourself a favor and go to iTunes NOW to download these five little rawk nuggets. In true Greg Dulli fashion, he has a few people along for the ride: his Gutter Twin pal Mark Lanegan shows up as does Joseph Arthur and Dulli's former Afghan Whigs bandmate, Rick McCollum. Album opener "Live With Me" is a Massive Attack cover, which SPIN Magazine is currently praising on their "Songs You Need To Download Now!" at this very moment.

1. Live With Me (featuring Mark Lanegan)
2. Sublime (featuring Joseph Arthur)
3. Flashback (featuring Mark Lanegan)
4. They Ride
5. The Lure Would Prove Too Much

Word has it that Dulli and Lanegan are finally teaming up to record an album under their famed moniker the Gutter Twins. The Afghan Whigs' forthcoming retrospective on Rhino is still in the works, too. John Curley, Greg Dulli, Rick McCollum and Michael Horrigan recently traveled to Memphis, TN to record at Ardent with longtime Whigs collaborator, Jeff Powell for Unbreakable. Release date: TBA.

Catch the Twilight Singers on the road this fall for their second run of North American shows this year. Tour opens October 24th in San Francisco and Stars Of Track & Field and Jeff Klein are also on the bill.

24 San Francisco CA - Great American Music Hall
25 West Hollywood CA - House of Blues Sunset Strip
27 Tucson AZ - Club Congress
28 Albuquerque NM - Launchpad
30 Omaha NE - Sokol Underground
31 St Louis MO - Mississippi Nights

01 Chicago IL - Double Door
02 Chicago IL - Double Door
03 Newport KY - Southgate House
04 Nashville TN - Mercy Lounge
06 Orlando FL - The Social
07 St Petersburg FL - The State Theatre
08 Atlanta GA - The Loft
09 Athens GA - 40 Watt Club
10 Carrboro NC - Cat's Cradle
11 Norfolk VA - The NorVa
13 Philadelphia PA - Theatre of Living Arts
14 Boston MA - Paradise Rock Club
15 Washington DC - Black Cat
16 Brooklyn NY - Warsaw

Labels: , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home